2 Month Progress Check

I thought that I would do a quick progress update.

Partially to keep myself on track and partially because I’m feeling pretty good and noticed a few things already from where I’ve changed things up this year, and I want to talk about that.

Sharing is caring, and that’s what you’re here for 🙂

If you’ve not seen or can’t quite remember my goals for this year, they are in the post ‘Hopes for 2021‘.

Photo by Bekka Mongeau on Pexels.com

It is the end of February, so I’m exactly 2 months into 2021.

I felt like I had a little trouble getting going this year, particularly with it being cold and dark and England being in another lockdown.

So I wasn’t feeling overly great about the start of this year.

But I had set myself up with some pre-made trackers for my various goals for this year and, similar to what I found when putting together the habit scorecard for last weeks post, I’m not actually doing as badly as my brain would have me believe.

I have already read 4 books out of my goal of 12, so that’s coming along nicely.

(If anyone has some good book suggestions then feel free to let me know)

I’ve had a broken oven for most of this month, I could have been lazy with this inconvenience and opted for takeaways or microwave meals, but instead I’ve tried a number of new recipes to work around this, including ‘microwave cookies’ to cheer myself up.

I’ve found a 14 week marathon training plan that I have added to my calendar and plan on starting on the 1st of March, which should have me completing the distance in June, hopefully before it starts getting too hot.

I’ve received permission to do a qualification course through work – there’s still some details to sort out but hopefully I should be starting it soon.

I’ve even lost over 2kg of the 5 I want to shed before June by tracking my food better and restricting my snacking.

Photo by rawpixel.com on Pexels.com

The one that surprised me most though, is my monthly goal for proud moments/actions.

I write these down when I do them, last week I was thinking to myself that I needed to get on with making sure I did something for Feb.

When I did do something last week that I was proud of and went to put it on the list, I found two items there already from the beginning of the month.

Somehow, I had completely forgotten.

Seeing them reminded me of those actions, and honestly it made me feel so happy.

So far, both January and February have three items each on this list.

They’re squished in in small writing because when I made the list I didn’t leave a lot of room, expecting there to be one thing, maybe two.

It kind of shows how deceiving our minds and our perceptions of ourselves can be, especially if you’re like me and can get down on yourself and feel like you are never doing enough or good enough.

This is one goal-setting idea that is a little odd, but it has honestly made me feel so much better and given me a clear format to see my small, happy achievements.

I’d highly recommend it to anyone, even if your proud moment is just having a good day or making someone else’s day a little better, isn’t that a good thing to remind yourself of?

I’m currently feeling optimistic and I’m looking forward to starting to run with a plan again tomorrow.

Wish me luck.

Leave a comment